January Wrap-Up Post

The first month of 2020 is in the books (*buh dum tss*), and that means it’s time for the wrap-up of my reading in January! I was able to finish 19 books and without further ado, here they are with my thoughts!


Don’t Date Rosa Santos by Nina Moreno

Rating: 3/5 Stars

Summary: Rosa Santos is cursed by the sea-at least, that’s what they say. Dating her is bad news, especially if you’re a boy with a boat.

But Rosa feels more caught than cursed. Caught between cultures and choices. Between her abuela, a beloved healer and pillar of their community, and her mother, an artist who crashes in and out of her life like a hurricane. Between Port Coral, the quirky South Florida town they call home, and Cuba, the island her abuela refuses to talk about.

As her college decision looms, Rosa collides – literally – with Alex Aquino, the mysterious boy with tattoos of the ocean whose family owns the marina. With her heart, her family, and her future on the line, can Rosa break a curse and find her place beyond the horizon?

Thoughts: I’m going to be honest, it was hard to get into this one. I started first by reading the hardcover, but I ended up switching to audio to see if that would help me get through it. It was okay, but the ending COMPLETELY lost me…I still don’t understand what happened. Not sure if I’ll pick up another title by this debut author.

Readalikes: The Secret of a Heart Note by Stacey Lee, The Universal Laws of Marco by Carmen Rodrigues, Small Town Hearts by Lilli Vale


The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Summary: It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will be busier still.

By her brother’s graveside, Liesel’s life is changed when she picks up a single object, partially hidden in the snow. It is The Gravedigger’s Handbook, left behind there by accident, and it is her first act of book thievery. So begins a love affair with books and words, as Liesel, with the help of her accordian-playing foster father, learns to read. Soon she is stealing books from Nazi book-burnings, the mayor’s wife’s library, wherever there are books to be found.

But these are dangerous times. When Liesel’s foster family hides a Jew in their basement, Liesel’s world is both opened up, and closed down.

In superbly crafted writing that burns with intensity, award-winning author Markus Zusak has given us one of the most enduring stories of our time.

Thoughts: I selected this book for a monthly reading challenge my library is doing, and I utterly consumed it. It was a lovely audiobook, and the writing was just gorgeous. I didn’t love the ending- to me, it felt abrupt and truly I was sad it ended at all- but overall, I loved this title and the words and the characters are going to be with me for some time.

Readalikes: Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit, Lovely War by Julie Berry, Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys


Sick Kids in Love by Hannah Moskowitz

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Summary: Isabel has one rule: no dating. It’s easier—It’s safer—It’s better—

—for the other person.

She’s got issues. She’s got secrets. She’s got rheumatoid arthritis.

But then she meets another sick kid. He’s got a chronic illness Isabel’s never heard of, something she can’t even pronounce. He understands what it means to be sick. He understands her more than her healthy friends. He understands her more than her own father who’s a doctor. He’s gorgeous, fun, and foul-mouthed. And totally into her.

Isabel has one rule: no dating. It’s complicated—It’s dangerous—It’s never felt better—

—to consider breaking that rule for him.

Thoughts: I picked this up because of Hallie over at @bookloaner and because I loved the tagline: they don’t die in this one. This book was a rollercoaster of emotions and experiences, but I loved every single second of it. It’s a cute romance that also addresses real life complications and issues in such a beautiful way- I can’t recommend it enough.

Readalikes: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella, It’s My Life by Stacie Ramey, Love from A to Z by S.K. Ali


Pride by Ibi Zoboi

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Summary: Zuri Benitez has pride. Brooklyn pride, family pride, and pride in her Afro-Latino roots. But pride might not be enough to save her rapidly gentrifying neighborhood from becoming unrecognizable.

When the wealthy Darcy family moves in across the street, Zuri wants nothing to do with their two teenage sons, even as her older sister, Janae, starts to fall for the charming Ainsley. She especially can’t stand the judgmental and arrogant Darius. Yet as Zuri and Darius are forced to find common ground, their initial dislike shifts into an unexpected understanding.

But with four wild sisters pulling her in different directions, cute boy Warren vying for her attention, and college applications hovering on the horizon, Zuri fights to find her place in Bushwick’s changing landscape, or lose it all.

In a timely update of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, critically acclaimed author Ibi Zoboi skillfully balances cultural identity, class, and gentrification against the heady magic of first love in her vibrant reimagining of this beloved classic.

Thoughts: I was skeptical about this retelling after the disaster that was Pride & Prejudice & Mistletoe in December, but I really ended up enjoying it. I feel it really captured the essence of Pride and Prejudice, but also modernized it in a way that is relatable to teens today. I listened to it on audio, and it’s narrated by Elizabeth Acevedo so it’s absolutely beautiful! Overall, it was good (but not great).

Readalikes: The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo, On the Come Up by Angie Thomas, When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon


Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Summary: Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children-No Solicitations, No Visitors, No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter. No matter the cost.

Thoughts: No, I’m not giving this five stars just because it has an asexual main character, though Nancy made me cry because seriously, for one of the first times ever I saw a character that has closely mirrored my own sexuality..

I’m not really much of a fantasy reader so the world-building issues others may have seen in this novella didn’t bother me. I felt the strength of this title was in the characters, and I thoroughly loved being a part of their lives even for the briefest moments. I’m excited to pick up the next one to see where the story goes next.

Readalikes: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, The Light Between Worlds by Laura E. Weymouth, A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab


The Grace Year by Kim Liggett

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

Summary: No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden.

In Garner County, girls are told they have the power to lure grown men from their beds, to drive women mad with jealousy. They believe their very skin emits a powerful aphrodisiac, the potent essence of youth, of a girl on the edge of womanhood. That’s why they’re banished for their sixteenth year, to release their magic into the wild so they can return purified and ready for marriage. But not all of them will make it home alive.

Sixteen-year-old Tierney James dreams of a better life—a society that doesn’t pit friend against friend or woman against woman, but as her own grace year draws near, she quickly realizes that it’s not just the brutal elements they must fear. It’s not even the poachers in the woods, men who are waiting for a chance to grab one of the girls in order to make a fortune on the black market. Their greatest threat may very well be each other.

Thoughts: I couldn’t put this one down- dystopias are a weakness for me, especially those with feminist themes. I read a few reviews that said they didn’t see this as a feminist work, but I’d argue that it is, in so much as The Handmaid’s Tale and Wilder Girls. The girls in this one are hampered by a patriarchal society that puts them against each other (sound familiar?), and yet they find ways to not play into these anticipated roles and expectations and lift each other up. The only thing honestly that kept this from a perfect 5 stars is that I felt the ending was a bit rushed and vaguely confusing. All in all, this one will be with me for months to come.

Readalikes: The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, The Good Luck Girls by Charlotte Nicole Davis, Girls With Sharp Sticks by Suzanne Young


Grass by Keum Suk Gendry-Kim

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Summary: Grass is a powerful antiwar graphic novel, telling the life story of a Korean girl named Okseon Lee who was forced into sexual slavery for the Japanese Imperial Army during the Second World War—a disputed chapter in twentieth-century Asian history.

Beginning in Lee’s childhood, Grass shows the lead-up to the war from a child’s vulnerable perspective, detailing how one person experienced the Japanese occupation and the widespread suffering it entailed for ordinary Koreans. Keum Suk Gendry-Kim emphasizes Lee’s strength in overcoming the many forms of adversity she experienced. Grass is painted in a black ink that flows with lavish details of the beautiful fields and farmland of Korea and uses heavy brushwork on the somber interiors of Lee’s memories.

The cartoonist Gendry-Kim’s interviews with Lee become an integral part of Grass, forming the heart and architecture of this powerful nonfiction graphic novel and offering a holistic view of how Lee’s wartime suffering changed her. Grass is a landmark graphic novel that makes personal the desperate cost of war and the importance of peace.

Thoughts: This was a superb and haunting graphic novel memoir. The art, the thick and hurried lines, really conveyed the true horrors that this story and the person it features underwent. This is another forgotten story that needs to be told…and needs to continue being told. My heart broke, but I’m so thankful for both the author and Okseon Lee for sharing these experiences with the world.

Readalikes: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee, Fax from Sarajevo by Joe Kubert, A Game for Swallows: to Die, to Leave, to Return by Zeina Abirached


The Comic Book Story of Professional Wrestling by Aubrey Sitterson & Chris Moreno

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Summary: As a pop culture phenomenon, professional wrestling–with its heroic babyfaces and villainous heels performing suplexes and powerbombs in pursuit of championship gold–has conquered audiences in the United States and around the world. Now, writer/podcaster Aubrey Sitterson and illustrator Chris Moreno form a graphic novel tag team to present wrestling’s complete illustrated history. Featuring legendary wrestlers like Bruno Sammartino, Hulk Hogan, and The Rock, and modern-day favorites like John Cena, Kenny Omega, and Sasha Banks, the book covers wrestling’s progress from the carnival days of the Gold Dust Trio to the dominance of the WWF/WWE to today’s diverse independent wrestling scene, and it spotlights wrestling’s reach into Mexico/Puerto Rico (lucha libre), the U.K. (all-in), and Japan (puroresu)

Thoughts: I picked this one up because I love watching wrestling, but I don’t know a lot about wrestling history. This is an incredibly informative title, and I really enjoyed both the art and being exposed to the knowledge within the book. Obviously not everything is going to be covered or addressed in a book of this size, but I feel that it’s a good introduction to newbies and fun nostalgia for die-hard fans.

Readalikes: Is This Guy for Real?: The Unbelievable Andy Kaufman by Box Brown, Sisterhood of the Squared Circle: the History and Rise of Women’s Wrestling by Pat Laprade, The Squared Circle: Life, Death, and Professional Wrestling by David Shoemaker


The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

Summary: The Bluest Eye is Toni Morrison’s first novel, a book heralded for its richness of language and boldness of vision. Set in the author’s girlhood hometown of Lorain, Ohio, it tells the story of black, eleven-year-old Pecola Breedlove. Pecola prays for her eyes to turn blue so that she will be as beautiful and beloved as all the blond, blue-eyed children in America. In the autumn of 1941, the year the marigolds in the Breedloves’ garden do not bloom. Pecola’s life does change- in painful, devastating ways.
What its vivid evocation of the fear and loneliness at the heart of a child’s yearning, and the tragedy of its fulfillment. The Bluest Eye remains one of Tony Morrisons’s most powerful, unforgettable novels- and a significant work of American fiction.

Thoughts: This was my work’s book club selection for January and it was my first Toni Morrison title, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. A lot of themes and conversation starters were packed in such a short book, and I really liked it (I don’t feel enjoyed is the proper term for this book- if you have read it, you understand). The only thing that kept it from a full 5 stars was because the individual stories of everyone in the book were hard to follow. Regardless, it was a beautifully-written book and I hope it’s not my last Toni Morrison book.

Readalikes: Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward, Ruby by Cynthia Bond


Are You Listening? by Tillie Walden

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Summary: Bea is on the run. And then, she runs into Lou.

This chance encounter sends them on a journey through West Texas, where strange things follow them wherever they go. The landscape morphs into an unsettling world, a mysterious cat joins them, and they are haunted by a group of threatening men. To stay safe, Bea and Lou must trust each other as they are driven to confront buried truths. The two women share their stories of loss and heartbreak—and a startling revelation about sexual assault—culminating in an exquisite example of human connection.

Thoughts: I loved Tillie Walden’s On a Sunbeam so much that when I saw this one on shelf, I had to grab it. For those who loved On a Sunbeam, be warned that this title is in many ways much different (though incorporation of fantasy in real-world issues is still present). The ways in which Tillie unravels grief and assault was both beautiful and inventive, and the art is simply fantastic. Overall, it was good but didn’t hold a candle to On a Sunbeam for me.

Readalikes: Run by Kody Keplinger, Lost at Sea by Bryan Lee O’Malley, Stage Dreams by Melanie Gillman


Welcome Back, Vol. 1: Help, I’m Alive by Christopher Sebela, Jonathan Brandon Sawyer, & Claire Roe

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Summary: Mali and Tessa have lived hundreds of different lives throughout time, caught up in an eternal cycle as they take part in a war so old that neither side remembers what they’re fighting for anymore. As Mali wakes up in her newest life, she suddenly becomes self-aware and starts to question everything, especially why she continues to fight.  But elsewhere, Tessa is already on the hunt…

Critically-acclaimed series, Welcome Back is a break-neck thriller of reincarnated assassins forever fighting, killing, and loving each other, by Eisner Award-nominated writer Christopher Sebela (Dead Letters, High Crimes) and artists Jonathan Brandon Sawyer (Critical Hit) and Claire Roe. Collects issues #1-4.

Thoughts: I decided to give this series a try because I’ve loved Christopher Sebela’s Crowded series so far. Welcome Back definitely proved to be interesting; I liked the concept I guess, but the execution (pardon the pun) was a little sloppy. I loved Jonathan Brandon Sawyer’s art and the characters in the story, so that’s what elevated it to 4 stars for me.

Readalikes: The Wicked + the Divine by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, & Matt Wilson, Blackbird by Sam Humphries & Jen Bartel, Kim & Kim by Magdalene Visaggio, Eva Cabrera, & Claudia Aguirre


Brave Face by Shaun David Hutchinson

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Summary: “I wasn’t depressed because I was gay. I was depressed and gay.”

Shaun David Hutchinson was nineteen. Confused. Struggling to find the vocabulary to understand and accept who he was and how he fit into a community in which he couldn’t see himself. The voice of depression told him that he would never be loved or wanted, while powerful and hurtful messages from society told him that being gay meant love and happiness weren’t for him.

A million moments large and small over the years all came together to convince Shaun that he couldn’t keep going, that he had no future. And so he followed through on trying to make that a reality.

Thankfully Shaun survived, and over time, came to embrace how grateful he is and how to find self-acceptance. In this courageous and deeply honest memoir, Shaun takes readers through the journey of what brought him to the edge, and what has helped him truly believe that it does get better.

Thoughts: This has been on my list for awhile, so I finally was able to check out an audiobook copy. Fair warning, this is a very intense read and thankfully the author prefaced the book with trigger warnings so I knew what I was getting into when I started it. I also appreciated that the audiobook was read by the author himself- I felt it added a nice touch to an already realistic portrayal of his teenage years. While intense, Brave Face was also very therapeutic, as I’ve also dealt with mental health issues, shame, and suicidal ideation.

Readalikes: Spinning by Tillie Walden, Sweet Tooth by Tim Anderson, Suicide Notes by Michael Thomas Ford


Welcome Back, Vol. 2: Run Away With Us by Christopher Sebela & Claire Roe

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars

Summary: Reincarnation is real, and two soldiers who have been part of a war that has raged for centuries wake up in new bodies, each on a quest to find the other.

Mali and Tessa remember now: they remember their roles as soldiers in a war without end, battling each other throughout centuries, reincarnating only to fight one another again. But now that they’re finally together, they’ve decided to break this cycle for good by choosing love over war. Unfortunately, factions on all sides of the conflict are at odds with their choice—including Tessa’s parents.

Critically-acclaimed writer Christopher Sebela (Dead Letters, High Crimes) and artist Claire Roe (Batgirl and the Birds of Prey) delve back into the darkly complex world where all lines have been blurred: between love and hate, war and peace.

Thoughts: Unfortunately, the artist (and art) I loved from the first volume didn’t return for this one, so this volume started off on a slightly sour note. The story also ended up being rather disappointing and underwhelming, especially considering that the first volume was so interesting and this was meant to be the concluding volume. It was okay, but I had hoped for more.

Readalikes: The Wicked + the Divine by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, & Matt Wilson, Blackbird by Sam Humphries & Jen Bartel, Kim & Kim by Magdalene Visaggio, Eva Cabrera, & Claudia Aguirre


Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Summary: A coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s murder.

Jay Reguero plans to spend the last semester of his senior year playing video games before heading to the University of Michigan in the fall. But when he discovers that his Filipino cousin Jun was murdered as part of President Duterte’s war on drugs, and no one in the family wants to talk about what happened, Jay travels to the Philippines to find out the real story.

Hoping to uncover more about Jun and the events that led to his death, Jay is forced to reckon with the many sides of his cousin before he can face the whole horrible truth — and the part he played in it. 

Thoughts: Okay apparently January was the month of audiobooks, because this was yet another book I listened to. This had been recommended to me by a few other teen librarians, and ooooooh boy this was rough in ALL the best ways. It addresses grief, addiction, and family in a beautiful and heartbreaking way. Truly I was at the end of my seat through the whole book, and it had an equal amount of beautiful day-to-day moments and larger-than-life experiences. I didn’t love the narrator of the audiobook, but I still gave it 5 stars because it was just that GOOD. I’m excited to read more by this author in the future.

Readalikes: Darius the Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram, Dear Haiti, Love Alaine by Maika Moulite & Maritza Moulite, Disappeared by Francisco X. Stork


Sheets by Brenna Thummler

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Summary: Marjorie Glatt feels like a ghost. A practical thirteen year old in charge of the family laundry business, her daily routine features unforgiving customers, unbearable P.E. classes, and the fastidious Mr. Saubertuck who is committed to destroying everything she’s worked for.

Wendell is a ghost. A boy who lost his life much too young, his daily routine features ineffective death therapy, a sheet-dependent identity, and a dangerous need to seek purpose in the forbidden human world.

When their worlds collide, Marjorie is confronted by unexplainable disasters as Wendell transforms Glatt’s Laundry into his midnight playground, appearing as a mere sheet during the day. While Wendell attempts to create a new afterlife for himself, he unknowingly sabotages the life that Marjorie is struggling to maintain.

Thoughts: Sheets has been on my TBR for awhile so when it was available on an ebook app from my library, I jumped at the chance to check it out. This story was hauntingly beautiful; from the storyline to the colors of the art, the inherent sadness really shone through. This emotion brought me into the book and hasn’t let me go yet, and I’ll definitely have to check out this author’s other works.

Readalikes: Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier, Pilu of the Woods by Mai K. Nguyen, Sunny Side Up by Jennifer L. Holm & Matthew Holm


Hey, Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Summary: In kindergarten, Jarrett Krosoczka’s teacher asks him to draw his family, with a mommy and a daddy. But Jarrett’s family is much more complicated than that. His mom is an addict, in and out of rehab, and in and out of Jarrett’s life. His father is a mystery — Jarrett doesn’t know where to find him, or even what his name is. Jarrett lives with his grandparents — two very loud, very loving, very opinionated people who had thought they were through with raising children until Jarrett came along.

Jarrett goes through his childhood trying to make his non-normal life as normal as possible, finding a way to express himself through drawing even as so little is being said to him about what’s going on. Only as a teenager can Jarrett begin to piece together the truth of his family, reckoning with his mother and tracking down his father.

Hey, Kiddo is a profoundly important memoir about growing up in a family grappling with addiction, and finding the art that helps you survive.

Thoughts: Hey, Kiddo is the first graphic novel to win the Odyssey Award, which honors the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States. I was curious how a graphic novel could translate into an audiobook, so I decided to give it a try! It was an incredible full cast audio, and so deserving of the award. The people in the book reminded me of my family, so listening in made me feel like I was home. I grabbed the book afterwards to look at the art, and despite the dark topic I was surprised by the dark color palette. I’m happy I started with audio because if I had started with the physical book, I may not have enjoyed it as much.

Readalikes: Stitches by David Small, Blankets by Craig Thompson, Free Lunch by Rex Ogle


Takane & Hana, Vol. 11 by Yuki Shiwasu

Rating: 2/5 Stars

Summary: After her older sister refuses to go to an arranged marriage meeting with Takane Saibara, the heir to a vast business fortune, high schooler Hana Nonomura agrees to be her stand-in to save face for the family. But what happens when Hana meets Takane is an unexpected pairing of utter opposites!

The meeting between Takane and Hana ends in an explosive manner, and Hana is convinced that she’ll never have to see that awful Takane again. But Takane actually seems interested in Hana! Exasperated by Takane’s immature attitude, yet amused and intrigued despite herself, Hana embarks on a hilarious journey with Takane that just might lead to love!

Takane gives Hana a surprise kiss on the nose, and now a flustered Hana is dying to know what it means! Meanwhile, Takane’s cousin Yakumo wants to be reacquainted with Takane, but there’s an ominous vibe about him… What exactly is he after?

Thoughts: I’ve been making my way through this series slowly but surely, and this has been one of my least favorite volumes. The whole cousin storyline and what follows was honestly stupid and didn’t make sense, and the relationship progression just hasn’t been great in the past couple of volumes. I’m going to continue to follow the series, but I’m not sure for how much longer.

Readalikes: Nisekoi: False Love by Naoshi Komi, Last Game by Shinobu Amano, Happy Marriage?! by Maki Enjōji


Daytime Shooting Star, Vol. 3 by Mika Yamamori

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Summary: Optimistic high schooler Suzume moves to Tokyo and finds her heart caught between two men!

After arriving in Tokyo to live with her uncle, Suzume collapses in a nearby park when she recallsm once seeing a shooting star during the day. A handsome stranger brings her to her new home and tells her they’ll meet again. Suzume starts her first day at her new high school sitting next to a boy who blushes furiously at her touch. And her homeroom teacher is none other than the handsome stranger!

Suzume has moved to Tokyo and is living with her uncle. In an unguarded moment while Mr. Shishio naps in the infirmary, Suzume voices her feelings. But he wasn’t sleeping?! Mamura soon realizes how Suzume feels about their teacher, and with Mr. Shishio’s ex-girlfriend back in the picture, things become even more complicated.

Thoughts: I didn’t love the first couple of volumes in this series, but this one was pretty enjoyable. It was realistic in how it addressed Suzume’s first crush and feelings, and it took me back to when I was a teen! I’m definitely starting to get into this series and I’m excited for the next volume.

Readalikes: Shortcake Cake by Yuu Morishita, Wolf Girl & Black Prince by Ayuko Hatta, Honey So Sweet by Amu Meguro, Ao Haru Ride by Io Sakisaka


New Kid by Jerry Craft

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Summary: Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Thoughts: New Kid is the FIRST graphic novel to win the prestigious Newbery Medal, which is given to an author of “the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children”, so I HAD to check it out to see (and celebrate!). It was so well done, and nuanced while also being overt and informational. This title definitely makes me want to look into reading my middle grade realistic graphic novels!

Readalikes: Blended by Sharon M. Draper, A Good Kind of Trouble by Lisa Moore Ramée, Real Friends by Shannon Hale & LeuYen Pham


I didn’t manage to read a book off my backlist TBR list (which can be found here), but overall I’m still on track to complete my GR goal of 200 books this year!

Also I’ve started doing what others on bookstagram have started doing- a bracket of the best book of each month of 2020! My selection of the best book I read in January? Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay!

What did you read (and love) in January? Share them in the comments below!

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s