Comic-a-Thon Wrap-Up

Y’all, somehow I did it! I completed all 25 prompts for this year’s Comic-a-Thon, and I had a really great time reading all of these titles I’d never had a chance to read before! I just want to say a quick thanks to Erin (@_everysecondbook), Kate (@k8nester), Esha (@somelatenightreading), Madeline (@biggerprint), Lily (@food_felines_fiction), and Val (@myfictionalworld_) for putting on the challenge- it’s seriously been a real blast! Without further ado, here are all the titles I had the fortune of reading, how many stars I gave them, and some books to try if you enjoyed them:


The Incredible & Amazing (5 Stars)

Jonesy, Vol. 1 by Sam Humphries & Caitlin Rose Boyle

Prompt: Read a Completed Series

Readalikes: My Love Story!! by Kazune Kawahara, The Backstagers by James Tynion IV & Rian Sygh, Help Us! Great Warrior by Madeleine Flores

Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

Prompt: Read a Graphic Novel Someone Else Has Recommended To You

Readalikes: The Breakaways by Cathy G. Johnson, All Summer Long by Hope Larson, Drum Roll, Please by Lisa Jenn Bigelow

Gender Queer by Maia Kobabe

Prompt: Read a Nonfiction Graphic Novel

Readalikes: The Bride Was a Boy by Chii, Wandering Son by Takako Shimura, Tomboy by Liz Prince

The Witch Boy by Molly Ostertag

Prompt: Read a 5 Star Prediction

Readalikes: The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang, Pashmina by Nidhi Chanani, Princess Princess Ever After by Katie O’Neill

Bloom by Kevin Panetta & Savanna Ganucheau

Prompt: Read a Graphic Novel that Involves Baking or Cooking

Readalikes: Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me by Mariko Tamaki & Rosemary Valero-O’Connell, Check, Please! Book 1: #Hockey by Ngozi Ukazu, Pumpkinheads by Rainbow Rowell & Faith Erin Hicks

Lumberjanes, Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Shannon Watters, & Brooke A. Allen

Prompt: Read a Hyped Graphic Novel

Readalikes: The Backstagers by James Tynion IV & Rian Sygh, Princeless by Jeremy Whitley & M. Goodwin, The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl by Ryan North & Erica Henderson

On a Sunbeam by Tillie Walden

Prompt: Read a Graphic Novel Set in Space

Readalikes: Decelerate Blue by Adam Rapp & Mike Cavallaro, Cosmoknights by Hannah Templer, Kim & Kim by Magdalene Visaggio, Eva Cabrera, & Claudia Aguirre


The Great (4-4.5 Stars)

Be Prepared by Vera Brosgol

Prompt: Read a Middle-Grade Graphic Novel

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Readalikes: Real Friends by Shannon Hale & LeUyen Pham, All’s Faire in Middle School by Victoria Jamieson, Making Friends by Kristen Gudsnuk

The Bride Was a Boy by Chii

Prompt: Read a Manga

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Readalikes: Wandering Son by Takako Shimura, Super Late Bloomer: My Early Days in Transition by Julia Kaye, Claudine by Riyoko Ikeda

Bitch Planet, Book One by Kelly Sue DeConnick & Valentine De Landro

Prompt: Read a Graphic Novel Set in the Future

Rating: 4 Stars

Readalikes: Cemetery Beach by Warren Ellis & Jason Howard, Rat Queens by Kurtis J. Wiebe & Roc Upchurch, Concrete Park by Tony Puryear, Erika Alexander, & Robert Alexander

In Real Life by Cory Doctorow & Jen Wang

Prompt: Read a Graphic Novel that is a Veteran on Your TBR

Rating: 4 Stars

Readalikes: Slay by Brittney Morris, Username: Evie by Joe Sugg & Amrit Birdi, Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Bury the Lede by Gaby Dunn & Claire Roe

Prompt: Read a Graphic Novel From a New-to-You Author (Switched out Mooncakes by Suzanne Walker)

Summary: Twenty-one-year-old Madison T. Jackson is already the star of the Emerson College student newspaper when she nabs a coveted night internship at Boston’s premiere newspaper, The Boston Lede. The job’s simple: do whatever the senior reporters tell you to do, from fetching coffee to getting a quote from a grieving parent. It’s grueling work, so when the murder of a prominent Boston businessman comes up on the police scanner, Madison races to the scene of the grisly crime. There, Madison meets the woman who will change her life forever: prominent socialite Dahlia Kennedy, who is covered in gore and being arrested for the murder of her family. The newspapers put everyone they can in front of her with no results until, with nothing to lose, Madison gets a chance – and unexpectedly barrels headfirst into danger she never anticipated.

Rating: 4 Stars

Readalikes: Abbott by by Saladin Ahmed & Sami Kivelä, Clean Room by Gail Simon & Jon Davis-Hunt, Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me by Mariko Tamaki & Rosemary Valero-O’Connell

Sex Criminals, Vol. 1: One Weird Trick by Matt Fraction & Chip Zdarsky

Prompt: Read the First Volume in a Series

Rating: 4 Stars

Readalikes: Demon by Jason Shiga, Deadpool: World’s Greatest by Gerry Duggan & Mike Hawthorne, Super Sexy Fun Times by Meredith McClaren

Jonesy Vol. 2 & 3 by Sam Humphries & Caitlin Rose Boyle

Prompt: Read a Completed Series

Rating: 4 Stars

Readalikes: My Love Story!! by Kazune Kawahara, The Backstagers by James Tynion IV & Rian Sygh, Help Us! Great Warrior by Madeleine Flores

Let’s Play by Leeanne “Mongie” Krecic

Prompt: Read a Webcomic

Rating: 4 Stars

Readalikes: Age Matters by Enjelicious, The Girl Downstairs by Songah Min, Cheese in the Trap by Soon Kki

The Handmaid’s Tale by Renée Nault & Margaret Atwood

Prompt: Read a Graphic Novel Adaptation of a Traditional Novel

Rating: 4 Stars

Readalikes: Woman World by Aminder Dhaliwal, Bitch Planet by Kelly Sue DeConnick & Valentine De Landro, The Giver by P. Craig Russell & Lois Lowry

Heavy Vinyl by Carly Usdin & Nina Vakueva

Prompt: Read a Feminist Graphic Novel

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Readalikes: The Backstagers by James Tynion IV & Rian Sygh, Giant Days by John Allison & Lissa Treiman, Misfit City by Kirsten ‘Kiwi’ Smith, Kurt Lustgarten, & Naomi Franquiz

Paper Girls, Vol. 6 by Brian K. Vaughan, Cliff Chiang, & Matt Wilson

Prompt: Read a Continuation in a Series

Rating: 4 Stars

Readalikes: The Woods by James Tynion IV & Michael Dialynas, Rocket Girl by Brandon Montclare & Amy Reeder Hadley, Meddling Kids by Edgar Cantero


The Good (3-3.5 Stars)

Tales from La Vida: a Latinx Comics Anthology, edited by Frederick Luis Aldama

Prompt: Read an Anthology (by One or More Authors)

Rating: 3 Stars

Readalikes: #NotYourPrincess: Voices of Native American Women edited by edited by Lisa Charleyboy & Mary Beth Leatherdale, This Place: 150 Years Retold by Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm et. al, Good Talk by Mira Jacob

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Prompt: Read a Horror or Paranormal Graphic Novel

Rating: 3 Stars

Readalikes: Beautiful Darkness by Marie Pommepuy, Fabien Vehlmann, & Kerascoët, Anthony Bourdain’s Hungry Ghosts by Anthony Bourdain, Joel Rose, Alberto Ponticelli, Leonardo Manco, Mateus Santolouco et al, Poe: Stories and Poems by Gareth Hinds & Edgar Allan Poe

Roadqueen: Eternal Roadtrip to Love by Ming Ong Chua

Prompt: Read a Graphic Novel that Features LGBTQIAP+ Representation

Rating: 3.5 Stars

Readalikes: Motor Crush by Brenden Fletcher & Cameron Stewart, Kim Reaper by Sarah Graley, Kim & Kim by Magdalene Visaggio, Eva Cabrera, & Claudia Aguirre

Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet, Vol. 1 by Ta-Nehisi Coates & Brian Stelfreeze

Prompt: Read a Graphic Novel That Features a Superhero

Rating: 3 Stars

Readalikes: Shuri by Nnedi Okorafor, Leonardo Romero, & Jordie Bellaire, The Mighty Thor by Jason Aaron & Russell Dauterman, LaGuardia by Nnedi Okorafor & Tana Ford

Goldie Vance, Vol. 1 by Hope Larson & Brittney Williams

Prompt: Read a Racially Diverse Graphic Novel

Rating: 3 Stars

Readalikes: Catnipped by Michelle Jaffe & Lince, Heavy Vinyl by Carly Usdin & Nina Vakueva, Cat Burglar Black by Richard Sala

High Crimes by Christopher Sebela & Ibrahim Moustafa

Prompt: Read a Standalone

Rating: 3.5 Stars

Readalikes: The Losers by Andy Diggle & Jock, Young Terrorists by Matt Pizzolo & Amancay Nahuelpan, The Abominable by Dan Simmons

Everyone’s an Aliebn When You’re an Aliebn Too by Jomny Sun

Prompt: Read the Group Book

Rating: 3 Stars

Readalikes: Look by Jon Nielson, Strange Planet by Nathan Pyle, Cyanide & Happiness by Kris, Rob, Matt, & Dave


The Rest (2.5 & Below)

V for Vendetta by Alan Moore & David Lloyd

Prompt: Read a Graphic Novel and Watch its Adaptation

Rating: 2 Stars

Readalikes: Bitch Planet by Kelly Sue DeConnick & Valentine De Landro, Calexit by Matt Pizzolo & Amancay Nahuelpan, Ikigami by Motoro Mase


Did you participate in Comic-a-Thon? If so, let me know what you read and loved in the comments below-I’m ALWAYS looking for more recommendations!

If you enjoyed this post and the readalike suggestions, let me know in the comments below too- I love doing it so I want to continue if it’s something you enjoy 🙂

Until next time…

2 thoughts on “Comic-a-Thon Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s